Life in the Fast Lane

Every once in awhile it's time to pull over to the shoulder and write.

  • Twitter Updates

  • What I’m Reading


    Kristin's book recommendations, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (currently-reading shelf)

Lt. Dan, ice cream!!

Posted by uncharch7 on October 4, 2008

LOVE that movie. Forest Gump is one of those classics that will never get old, and you can’t help but love Tom Hanks in that movie.

Anywho.

Although it has been a little over two months since my tonsillectomy, it’s still all too fresh in my head. It was one of those necessary evil surgeries; something you never really wanted to do (although who wants to have surgery??), but knew you’d have to suck it up and deal with it. Surgery was Thursday, July 24, and I had to be there by 6:15 am and I was home in my bed by 10am that morning. I really wasn’t given all that much information beforehand about it, and honestly didn’t think to ask all kinds of detailed questions. I just wanted it over with. It lasted less than 30 minutes and C was surprised when the doctor came out so soon saying I was in recovery. I remember waking up with a dry throat and I was sitting up, which wasn’t where I wanted to be since the room was spinning. I wasn’t allowed water, only Sprite. Bubbles + fresh wounds is NOT a good idea. Not what I wanted, but another lost battle.

Hydrocodone is not my friend. I couldn’t stand the feeling of floating a foot above the bed and the room spinning, so I only took it until Sunday and switched to Tylenol. I was a much happier person. The day after surgery I ate pizza, which probably wasn’t the best of choices but I was so hungry I suffered through anything just to be able to have a full stomach. I ate lots of ramen noodles, a bit of jello, and some pasta… anything that would go down without a lot of effort. Although I had gotten ice cream from the store on Friday, I couldn’t eat a lot of it. I was SO disappointed when ice cream didn’t feel good on the way down; little did I know dairy causes more mucus, which means things are thicker and harder to swallow. UGH. Let me tell you though, the little neck ice pack the doctor gave me was my BFF starting on Tuesday and lasting through the end of the week after surgery. Loved that thing.

The Wednesday and Thursday after surgery were the worst; I felt like there were needles in my throat, constantly poking me and I broke down and cried late Wednesday night. I was frustrated, tired and hungry on top of being in pain. C was great the whole time, he stayed home with me the day after surgery and came home and waited on me hand and foot while he was there. He was amazing.

I only threw up one blood clot on Saturday and that was the end of the bleeding. It hurt to talk for long periods of time, which I’m sure other people enjoyed since I didn’t talk as much as I usually do. Too bad for them I’m back to normal!

Leave a comment